Olemike's Blog

Broccoli Harvest – Fall 2012

Posted by olemike on 11/11/2012

We harvested our first Broccoli the other day.  It weighed 14.9 oz.  It was a perfect size for one dinner  meal with perhaps a little left over for the next days lunch.  It was also exactly 60 days after I planted it which is what the label stated it should take.  That’s the first time that’s ever happened for us.  Maybe we are getting better at this science ( or art)  of gardening.  Sometimes it seems like both.

The entire garden is coming along quite well.  Take a look.

The cabbage heads are starting to form.  I’m also pleased with how the celery is growing.  This is our first time growing celery.

The Brussel Sprouts are also doing well.

We were starting to get more Broccoli than we could eat right away so we are freezing the extra.  Yesterday, we picked two heads , blanched them, and placed them in Seal-a-Meal, and then put in the freezer for future use.

A couple of days ago, I added another bed of Broccoli and Red Cabbage.  They should be ready in a couple of months.

I also recently planted a bed of onions and garlic.  It includes Whites, Reds, and Walla Walla sweet onions.  The garlic was from left over bulbs we grew last year.  I don’t have a good picture of this bed.  I’ll post one of it later after we have some growth.

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with our winter garden thus far.  It’s the most successful I’ve grown to date.  We’ll see how it turns out.

16 Responses to “Broccoli Harvest – Fall 2012”

  1. Greta Hogberg said

    What a beautiful garden. Lot’s of work goes into that.

    • olemike said

      Hi hon Did you notice the blue bird bath in the garden bed you gave me. Birds love it!! I bought a metal finch feeder at Fred Meyer when I went to Brookings the birds love i have to put seed in every day. They eat, then fly to the bird bath, drink fly back to eat. So much fun just watching them.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Phyllis said

    I love looking at your gorgeous garden…..can’t believe how it’s grown since I was there. Ill bet that broccoli tasted better than the tasteless stuff I get sometimes. Keep the pics coming….it inspires me to want to do something…LOL!

  3. df said

    What a pleasure to share in your garden in this way; you are doing a wonderful job! I’ve not yet had success with celery, and lost a beautiful head of broccoli a few years ago to some plague or other. I had successes this year that made it all worthwhile, and it’s lovely to share in yours.

    • olemike said

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I like to read garden blogs. I’m always looking for new ideas and to see how others are doing.

  4. P. C. Zick said

    Wonderful post. You’re doing well with broccoli and cabbage. We have a ground hog(s) that like these but have gotten some. Last night we had brussel sprouts – small and tender. We tried celery for the first time this year and as the weather cooled we finally started getting some good stalks. Always enjoy your updates.

    • olemike said

      Thanks for reading. I appreciate your comments – past and present. It’s fun to read other garden blogs to keep up with what successes and failures other gardeners have. I’m always looking to learn something new.

  5. Your raised beds are so neat! Your produce look really healthy and I love the vacuum bags for preserving them in the freezer.

  6. Robin said

    You have an absolutely beautiful garden!!! I’ve never grown celery but I want to try my hand at celeriac this coming summer.

  7. Your raised beds are really something. I am envious! I feel lucky an grateful that I got the maple leaves and homemade compost hauled into my garden (traditional garden with chicken wire fencing) this fall!! Maybe I’ll have raised beds in another lifetime!

    Small House / Big Sky Donna
    BLOG: http://smallhouseunderabigskywordpress.com

  8. solarbeez said

    Just a thought here, Mike, if you cut the broccoli off and leave the plant in the ground, some varieties will keep growing side shoots for weeks after you’ve harvested the main head.

Leave a Reply

 
