Olemike's Blog

Garden Status – October 2012

Posted by olemike on 10/21/2012

I thought it was about time I published an update on the status of my fall garden.  All in all, it’s doing pretty well.  I hope to be eating new Broccoli by Thanksgiving.  I have also planted Cabbage, Brussel Sprouts, Kale, Celery, Spinach, and Lettuce.   I still have summer tomatoes growing although they are definitely winding down.  I’m about ready to pull them out and get ready for onions and garlic.  I’ve been fighting a war with cabbage worms.  Any ideas out there for a battle plan? I could use the advice.  I have my helper looking for worms but he doesn’t seem to have the killer instinct.  Oh well, I’ll keep him anyway.

Keep an eye out for my November update.

13 Responses to “Garden Status – October 2012”

  1. Phyllis said

    Cody looks so cute peeking over that broccoli! Garden looks good!!

  2. putneyfarm said

    Looks great… we need to get our winter garden going…

  3. Greta Hogberg said

    Looks good

  4. df said

    Everything is looking wonderful; a beautiful fall garden!

  5. P. C. Zick said

    Not sure about cabbage worms. The ground hogs got our brussell sprouts. Your garden looks fantastic. Thanks for update.

  6. Robin said

    Have you tried using BT for your cabbage worms? I have to use it a couple times during the summer when the worms get out of hand. We’ve got a huge infestation of cabbage aphids that I’m not sure how I am going to deal with yet.

    • olemike said

      Thanks for checking out the blog. Actually, I did try the BT spray. It seems to have helped a lot. I’ll keep at it. We have often used soapy water for Aphids. That seems to help.

  7. Good way of describing, and good paragraph to take facts on the topic of my presentation topic, which i am
    going to deliver in college.

Leave a Reply

 
