Olemike's Blog

Post Vacation Harvest

Posted by olemike on 09/08/2012

We just returned home after a week in Texas.We attended my sister’s 50th wedding anniversary party, played a little golf, and ate a lot more than we should have.

This is what we harvested from the garden when we returned.  It was about 13 lbs. of primarily Patty Pan squash, plus some cucumbers, and a few little tomatoes.  So far this summer, we have picked 270 Patty Pan’s and saved about $270 (at Whole Foods prices).  But enough is enough!  I am going to pull the Patty Pan plants this weekend and get the bed ready for winter garden produce.  I’m starting with Broccoli.  I purchased some  sets at Green Acres Nursery yesterday.  I’ll get them in the ground today.  Wish me luck.

4 Responses to “Post Vacation Harvest”

  1. Wanda Orick said

    Wish you luck???? You have proven that you are an expert gardener – not to mention a skilled designer in colors with your presentations. And Leona’s canned goods are a beautiful picture. Well done.

    • olemike said

      Thanks for the kind words. However, “Expert” is a little bit of an overstatement.
      The more time I garden, the more I realize I don’t know. It is especially true with tomatoes. I still can’t quite figure them out – especially with regard to size and preventing blossom end rot. Thanks anyway!

  2. P. C. Zick said

    You’ll do fine. We’re going to start another round of spinach. I love those patty pans – are you just going to store them? We’re overrun with butternuts right now but they’ll store fine in basement.

Leave a Reply

 
