Olemike's Blog

Potato Tower Final Report

Posted by olemike on 07/17/2012

I dug up the last of the potatoes today. Here is a full pictorial.

All in all, I guess the yield wasn’t bad.  We got a total of 15 potatoes weighing about 4 lbs.  I can’t report that the tower works exactly as I hoped it would.  Most of the potatoes seemed to be at the bottom where you would normally find them.  I don’t know if they grow up the stem as you add more dirt or not.  I’ll try it again next year.  I probably did not add additional soil early enough this time around.  But we are enjoying the potatoes we did get.  I’d be interested to hear from anyone else about their success with a potato tower.

2 Responses to “Potato Tower Final Report”

  1. sfginthebadlands said

    I might try that next year. Do you think it was worth the time and money? I mean other than getting potatoes with no pesticides or other chemicals.

    • olemike said

      I wouldn’t use a box tower if I had the space to plant in the ground. Additionally, we don’t eat many potatoes so the box was just sort of a test case to see if it would work as advertised.

Leave a Reply

 
