Olemike's Blog

Potato Tower results

Posted by olemike on 07/06/2012

I finally checked to see if my potato tower was providing any results.  I removed one board, stuck in my thumb, and pulled out a plum (well, really three potatoes).

They weighed a total of 12.9 ounces.  Not huge but nice sized potatoes.  I did not check for any more after the first three.  I thought I would wait a while and then try again.  I did fill the box up with more potting soil.  We’ll see what happens after a few more weeks.  I’ll probably check the box every couple of weeks from now on.

Here are some other current pictures of my garden.

We’re starting to get quite a few Roma tomatoes on the vine.  We are hoping for a good crop so we can put up more stewed tomatoes this year.  Last summer, we canned about 25 pints and they are gone.  Out goal this year will be for about 35 pints.

Every gardener needs a good helper.  Here’s a shot of mine.  He’s very good with the watering hose.

10 Responses to “Potato Tower results”

  1. df said

    Your garden is looking absolutely resplendent!

  2. Phyllis said

    That is the most gorgeous garden. I remember those wonderful creamed potatoes mom used to fix. That’s back when we could eat cream!!! Ha ha
    I can’t quite figure out how that potato box works.

  3. P. C. Zick said

    Everything looks wonderful! The potato tower? Have you written a blog about that? Sounds interesting. And I love your helper. We could use one of those.

  4. I went to harvest my potatoes this week and there was nothing there! Not one spud. I am jealous.

  5. seamistandmagnolias said

    I really like your garden design and your little helper is precious!
    Ellan

  6. the potato tower really seems to be working! I must see if I can build something simialr 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
