Olemike's Blog

New Playground Mulch for Garden

Posted by olemike on 06/22/2012

Yesterday, Leona and I hauled in 1.5 yards of playground mulch  to place around the garden beds.  We moved the straw we previously had up into the beds to use as mulch for moisture retention.   All in all, we like how things came out.  The garden looks much cleaner.  Take a look.

6 Responses to “New Playground Mulch for Garden”

  1. Phyllis said

    It looks gorgeous! You’ve done lots since I saw it last!

  2. Wanda Orick said

    Absolutely beautiful. Congratulations on job well done.

  3. This looks neat and clean; no grass to worry about. You’ve got me considering making garden boxes. They look easier to keep up than planting like I do. As I get older I think these would be easier to garden in. I would ‘nt need some one to come till my larger garden with a tractor several times in the fall and then again in the spring. Do you have any bad points in gardening this way? (advice).

    • olemike said

      I really like our raised beds. When I built them I filled them with good organic soil so they are not prone to get weeds. One of the best benefits is not having to get down on your knees to work in the garden. Depending on ones age and physically capability, these are very easy to work with. They need a minimum of tilling because you never walk on them. The only downside is the up front cost of building them. I made mine out of redwood and the total cost for a 4′ x 8′ foot bed 24″ high with soil was about $250. That’s pretty steep but they will last for years. I would only recommend using redwood or cedar. Fir or pine would be cheaper but would also rot much more quickly. If you decide to build some, I’ll look forward to pictures.

  4. seamistandmagnolias said

    Hello! I love your raised beds, my husband and I are working on a similar design for our backyard. Your garden is beautiful and I’m looking forward to reading your other posts…lot’s of good info here! Thanks for stopping by my place and for the ‘follow’. ~ Ellan

Leave a Reply

 
