Olemike's Blog

Mid June Garden Status

Posted by olemike on 06/19/2012

I just returned from a trip to Missouri for a high school reunion (more about that in another post) and we also took a central Missouri day trip (Watch Travel category for that).  Anyway, I thought it was time for a garden status report.  During my absence, Leona had been picking squash left and right.

We are getting Patty Pan squash about every day and Zucchini about every other day.  There is nothing better than fresh summer squash.  Add a little butter and it melts in your mouth.

We are also starting to get cucumbers.  Haven’t yet picked one but tomorrow is the target date.

We harvested our onions and garlic a few days ago.  After drying them in the beds, we hung them in the garage for further drying.  This was our first effort with both and we were pleased with the result.

The Crenshaw melons we planted are doing well but a long while to go before we will harvest anything.

The peppers and tomatoes are also looking good but no produce yet.   Our weather is getting hot so the tomatoes should be doing well.

We just planted 4 more squash in the bed vacated by the onions.  However, we planted what the nursery called “Peter Pan” squash rather than “Patty Pan”.  They look similar except they are a light green color instead of yellow.  We’ll see how they turn out.  No results yet on my potato box but it shouldn’t be too much longer.

6 Responses to “Mid June Garden Status”

  1. Phyllis said

    My mouth is watering as I read through your post! Really enjoy hearing about all those tasty veggies. Seems like you’ve had a great yield this year. Travis and Laura gave us a couple of delicious tomatoes last week so think I’ll try my hand next year. It makes one never want store-bought again. I’ve never had the patty pans but your post makes me want to try! Enjoy!

    • olemike said

      Thanks Phyllis – I don’t know if we will still be getting any in Oct when you come out. I doubt it. We are really enjoying them right now however.

  2. P. C. Zick said

    Lovely!

  3. Karen Duke said

    Love your raised garden beds – I grow in raised beds too! Here are a couple of squash recipes for you from my blog: http://aroundkarenshouse.wordpress.com/pick-a-plant/squash-zucchini/

Leave a Reply

 
