Olemike's Blog

Where Oh Where Did My Ladybugs Go?

Posted by olemike on 05/31/2012

Has anyone ever wondered what happens to all of the ladybugs they may put out in their garden? They must be real nomads because the next day after we put out about 1500 ladybugs, I couldn’t find hardly any next day.

My story begins with the aphids we saw on our Patty Pan squash.

So, off we go to Green Acres Nursery to get some ladybugs.  We bought this bag of 1500 and dispersed (in the evening just before dark) all 1500 into our 5 raised beds with most going to the squash bed.

Next day, here is one of the few that remained in the garden.

Question is, where do they all go?   I don’t know of many neighbors who have a garden so my garden should seem like a Sunday brunch buffet.

Any ideas out there?

14 Responses to “Where Oh Where Did My Ladybugs Go?”

  1. I just bought some too. Going to put them out tonight.

  2. Phyllis said

    Where in the world would they have gone!

  3. Elizabeth said

    Did they at least eat all your aphids before disappearing?

  4. bishop9396 said

    You may want to order direct to minimize the extra handling that may stress them before they are released. Water the garden well before shaking them out and do it after dark….even then they may “fly away home”….

  5. Did your ladybugs come back? It’s sad that you went thru all the trouble only to have them disappear.

  6. Kristi said

    Olemike, that same thing happened to me when I bought ladybugs for my aphid problem. I was really bummed. Mine never came back despite the lovely little ladybug house I built for them. And didn’t they realize that I laid out a huge spread for them? Yours didn’t either. Bah. Sorry that happened to you.

    In googling around about this, I ran across this question/statement:
    ” How do I keep the ladybugs from leaving my garden?

    A tip recommended by several live ladybug dealers suggest a technique that prevents the ladybugs from flying temporarily. Mix a 1 to 1 ratio of water and sugar based soda (most soda’s are full of sugar) such as Coke or Pepsi and mist the ladybugs with it. This causes their wings to stick and they will have to stay exploring the surrounding areas for food. The solution wears off after about a week.”

    I’m not sure I’d have the heart to do such a thing, except maybe with organic evaporated cane juice in water or something like that—definitely not soda, yuck. It seems like it could be plausible.

    Here’s the link I got that from, btw, just in case you haven’t seen this site before:
    http://everything-ladybug.com/ladybug-pest-control.html

    Have a great day, and thanks for the follow! 🙂

    • olemike said

      Kristi, I’m not sure that I would have the heart to do that as well. I’ll just have to buy more when I need their help. I’ll check out the web site you sent me. Thanks!

  7. I’d love to have some ladybirds in our garden!

Leave a Reply

 
