Olemike's Blog

2012 Spring Garden Update

Posted by olemike on 05/23/2012

I finally have all of my raised beds planted so thought I would do an update for my blog.

The 5 beds you see contain  Yellow Patty Pan Squash, Zucchini, Cucumbers (being grown on a trellis), Pole Beans, Beets, Tomatoes (both determinate for canning and indeterminate for eating). Nothing looks really great right now but many of these were just recently set out.

Bed # 5 still has onions and garlic which we planted in the fall.

We are just now starting to harvest and dry them.

Here is a recent picture of my potato box.  It is still growing quite well.  I do need to add some more soil right away.  This is as tall as I will make the box.

We should start to see some produce in a few weeks.  We are already getting some small Patty Pan squash forming.  It won’t be long now.

10 Responses to “2012 Spring Garden Update”

  1. Phyllis said

    All the boxes look sooo good! That onion is huge! Can’t wait to see the yield on the potatoes.

  2. Great looking garden. I kinda wish I wasn’t in an area with such a short growing season. I’ve barely been able to get stuff planted and I’m now having to protect them from the high winds and cool weather even though the threat of frost should be over. I’ll have to watch your blog for tips and tricks, Thanks.

  3. putneyfarm said

    Beautiful garden and great pics!

  4. Your raised beds look really good. I can tell from some of the pictures that you built them up higher at some point. I’ve done the same thing and it seems to be helping the carrots this year.

    • olemike said

      I added a second level so it is easier for my wife and I to work there without always getting down on our hands and knees. I definitely like them taller. Thanks for checking me out.

  5. I am jealous of your onions! I have tried two years to grow onions from sets – I think I am getting them in the ground too late. I really like the wood trellis in the shape of a pyramid I may need to think about crafting one or two of those next year.

    • olemike said

      Thanks for checking out my garden. I had not raised onions before so felt quite lucky that they came out as well as they did. We usually use the oblisks for pole beans. I think this fall we will paint them with a bright color. We saw a purple one at the local horticulture center last weekend and we really liked it.

Leave a Reply

 
