Olemike's Blog

Garden Update – March 2012

Posted by olemike on 03/25/2012

I learned something about Brussel Sprouts this year.  They need to be planted far earlier than early November.  I was probably two months late in getting them in the ground. As you can see by this picture, they have already started to bolt.  I just pulled them and added them to my mulch pile.  Next fall I will try again but will plant in late Sept or early October.

However, our onions and garlic seem to be doing fairly well.   I’m looking forward to planting the summer garden.  I did plant some peas and beets in early February and a second planting of both on March 5.

I got the grandkids to help me out the last time.

They are enjoying helping out in the garden.  Cody is not much help though.  All he wants to do is play.  Since he still not yet two, I guess that’s Ok.

One Response to “Garden Update – March 2012”

  1. Phylis said

    The brussel sprout plants are gorgeous though. All pics great!

Leave a Reply

 
