Olemike's Blog

Wanted – Politicians who tell the Truth

Posted by olemike on 01/10/2012

The current state of politics remind me of the line from “Julius Caesar” where Caesar tells Brutus “The fault dear Brutus is not in our stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlings.” As long as we the public play the fool and allow our elected leaders (or would be leaders) to lie to us about what they believe, will do, have done, want to do, etc., we will get the exact type of leadership and government that we deserve.

Both political parties are guilty of telling lies to us and about each other and are basically saying just about anything that will enable them to get elected or reelected. I, for one, am sick of it. Reading this article this morning set me off.

The country is so polarized around politics right now that it is almost impossible to imagine how we will ever solve the ever-growing problems which we face. Our debt is ballooning, our education system is becoming second-rate, we have millions unemployed, and most of the country think we are heading in the wrong direction.

The best answers we get from Washington are to either spend more and raise taxes or spend less and cut taxes. Surely a better answer is somewhere in the middle. Unfortunately, we seem to be out of deal makers. Most of either retired or given up. Even the President, who should be leading the way, has given up and is strictly in campaign mode.

We are in big trouble if things don’t change. We must demand honesty and integrity from those we elect.

6 Responses to “Wanted – Politicians who tell the Truth”

  1. Phyllis said

    Very well said! You hit the nail right on the head!

  2. I like what you said. The question is, are top-down solutions best, or bottom-up? It depends. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing, which is what I think you’re getting at. Take education is top-down best? I think not. How about national defense? Of course, because that IS the role of the federal government. Thanks for giving us good food for thought.

  3. Hi Olemike, Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting on the irrigation… I get frustrated with the political affairs as well, though probably from a slightly different perspective. Besides Karl Rove, I saw you had Paul Krugman on your reading list, so that’s pretty curious! You may notice that I occasionally blog on economic issues as well. One of my new heroes to help make sense out of things is Steve Keen – you should check him out. However, if I were to pick a man with wisdom to aid in understanding today’s world it would be John Micheal Greer – the Archdruid.
    Whatever our problems, nothing like being able to grow your own food!

    • olemike said

      Gary, thanks for checking out my blog. I liked your comments about my reading list. Yes, I am a touch conservative but like to read other points of view from those farther left than me. Paul Krugman certainly fits that bill. I don’t often agree with him but he’s a smart guy and I like to know what he and other like thinkers feel about certain issues. I like debating political issues. I’ll check out the two men you mentioned above.

      And yes, it certainly great to have a garden.

Leave a Reply

 
