Olemike's Blog

American Made or Bust !

Posted by olemike on 11/27/2011

My primary New Years resolution (beginning now) is to buy as many “American Made” products as possible. That is something we as individuals can do (be we conservative, liberal, independent) to help improve our national economy. I suppose we could go out and protest, burn a few buildings, and bust out a few windows, but I’ll leave that to someone else.

Leona and I went to Costco today. We were lucky that most of our purchases were produced here in the good old U.S. However, there were two exceptions: 1. Folgers Coffee – Their coffee beans come from South America. Hawaii does grow coffee beans but I’ll have to research where they are sold, etc. 2. We did buy some blueberries from Argentina. I know blueberries are grown in the U.S. so we’ll have to make a different purchasing decision in the future. I don’t expect to be perfect at this right from the get-go. It’s an evolving process.

I invite all of my Facebook friends to join me in this effort. If we share our experiences, we can help each other with ideas and hopefully, help in some small way to improve the unemployment problem we have.

2 Responses to “American Made or Bust !”

  1. Phyllis said

    Count us in………………this may be very challenging! I’ll try to get the rest of us here in San Antonio to get on board!

    • olemike said

      There’s no doubt it will be a challenge to eliminate foreign made products. But – it will be fun to try. Be sure and post about it on Facebook if and when you make new choices. Thanks for getting on board.

Leave a Reply

 
