Olemike's Blog

Harvest Time is a Good Time

Posted by olemike on 07/18/2011

Our garden is starting to pay dividends from the work we invested this spring.  We harvest something every morning.  Most frequent are zucchini (no surprises there), yellow squash, cucumbers, radishes, and we are now starting to get tomatoes.  We are hoping for green beans in the near future.   We also have harvested  lots of lettuce, spinach, and swiss chard.  However, because of the hot weather,  that bed of greens was starting to bolt so we turned under what was left and converted it to a two tiered height.  Note:  I wanted to make it easy for Leona to work in the garden.  I will convert all other beds before we plant the winter garden.  This is the first time I have grown cucumbers on a trellis.  It is working out pretty well.  I will continue that in the future.

We recently attended a farmers market in Santa Rosa with my daughter-in-law (Janaize) and two grand-daughters (Georgia and Caroline).  After seeing the wide array of veggies, I told Leona ” We need a bigger garden”.  We had a good laugh about that.

Half of our tomato plants are “determinate” and we plan on canning stewed tomatoes when they are ready.  We haven’t done that before so we’ll see how it goes.  Stay tuned.

5 Responses to “Harvest Time is a Good Time”

  1. Wow your garden looks beautiful and amazing! I am just starting out this year, doing it for the first time. It is interesting to see what grows well where, and what needs a new spot next year. Each year I hope to improve. Looks like you are doing fantastic!

    • olemike said

      Thanks for taking a look. We also discovered that beet greens were really good. The taste reminds me a bit of spinach. I really liked the video you posted of the guy who raised potatoes in a potting container. I am definitely going to try that next year.

  2. Phyllis said

    It all looks so healthy!

  3. Teresa said

    I was a little late getting my garden started and it’s just now coming to harvest. I’m planting more for the fall harvest, too. Lovely haul!

    • olemike said

      I also have started planting a fall garden. Last week I planted cabbage, onions, broccoli, cauliflower, and beets. I just hope I didn’t start too soon. It is still pretty hot here.

Leave a Reply

 
