Olemike's Blog

Winter Weather Is Here Again!

Posted by olemike on 05/18/2011

Will we ever get good gardening weather?   Just when I think my garden is going to break out and really do well, it once again gets cold and rainy.  I’m very discouraged about my tomatoes.  They need warmth and sunshine desperately.  I took some pictures a few days ago on the garden’s status.  Some plants are doing well  – in fact, most everything I planted except the tomatoes and beans.  The tomatoes look sickly and the beans never came up.  Leona thinks she planted them too deep.  We will re-sow after the rain stops.  We also planted some Honey Babe dwarf peach trees.  See also the strawberry box and Leona’s herb container.  Hopefully, these will all look better in a few weeks.

8 Responses to “Winter Weather Is Here Again!”

  1. Wanda Orick said

    I know what you mean. Our church planted hundreds of strawberry plants early this year; they took all the precautions to keep the plants safe from our cold weather. However, unfortunately, they did not count on voles! They ate most of the strawberry plants. Our church has a very large garden. Our intent is to “feed our neighbors”. I was so looking forward to those fresh, home-grown strawberries. Bah, humbug!!!! I’m happy to see what is going on in your garden.

  2. Nice garden!

    • olemike said

      Thanks for noticing. I added three more raised beds this year. We are trying to produce more of our own home grown veggies. We would like to freeze or can some as well. If only the weather would cooperate.

  3. How deep are your beds? I made some twelve inches deep last year but my tomatoes and peppers didn’t do well!

    • olemike said

      Mine are also 12″. I had pretty good tomatoes last year. I think the roots went down into what used to be lawn area. I have adobe soil underneath. I think the key (which I have yet to master) is the right amount of water and fertilizer. Of course, sunshine and heat help as well.

  4. Phyllis said

    Just reading all the comments…………..how are your plants doing now? Any sunshine? Our problem here is just no rain……they are predicting a very dry year so won’t be good for all the plants.

Leave a Reply

 
